Wednesday, January 8, 2014

First Look: 2014 Chili Bowl Qualifying Nights

TULSA, OK | Jan. 6, 2014 - There is no such thing as an easy night at the Chili Bowl. With 285 entries for the twenty-eight edition of the world's largest indoor Midget race, it's a sure bet that even the "E" Mains on Saturday will stack up like "A" Features anywhere else.

Among the list of 285 entries are 274 confirmed drivers of which 58 are past feature starters, 64 are Chili Bowl Rookies, and six who have already earned the coveted Golden Driller with each one looking for the advantage.

Being that the Tulsa Expo Raceway is ripped up, and rebuilt every year, that "hopeful" advantage comes, for some, in the form of the Speedway Motors Tulsa Shootout. Contested this past weekend, the lineup of 513 drivers showed 23 Chili Bowl entrants, including four-time and defending Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Champion, Kevin Swindell, who circled the Tulsa Expo Raceway 154 green-flag laps after competing in four divisions of Micro Sprint Cars.

Saturday, January 4, 2014


Collie, Western Australia | Jan. 4, 2013 - The “Kentucky Colonel” Steve Francis has back to back in the first two events of the 2014 Moyle Engines USA Invasion Tour at Quit Collie Speedway Friday night and Manjimup Speedway on Saturday.


In what many described as a dominating display, Francis led the thirty lap main event from start to finish aboard his Ozmine Racing USA16 BWRC, only being brought back to the field courtesy of a few stoppages throughout the main event.

Twenty four cars were on hand for the opening night of the Invasion Tour with the six heats races producing six different winners. The heat wins going to Francis, Brad Blake, Jason Moyle, Koran Atkinson, Marc Giancola and Lee Watt.


CARTERSVILLE, GA | Jan. 4, 2013 - The 2014 Line-Up of NeSmith Performance Parts Street Stock Division Presented By AR Bodies sanctioned tracks shows ten tracks in five states. Drivers will compete for a point fund at their weekly track, plus a National point fund where they will compete against each other using a points system over a 27-week period from March 24 through September 28.

The Top 10 drivers in the 2014 NeSmith Performance Parts Street Stock Division Presented By AR Bodies National point standings will divide a $5,000 point fund and the Champion will pocket $2,000. 

Dillon Determined But Donny Does It - Schatz Wins World Series Sprintcars Round 6

Archerfield, Queensland AU | Jan. 4, 2013 - 5 times World of Outlaws Champion Donny Schatz won the 30 lap A-Main for Round Six of ENZED World Series Sprintcars at Supercheap Auto Archerfield Speedway tonight but not before South Aussie Luke Dillon impressed the strong Queensland crowd on hand by leading most of the race.

Schatz led home Dillon in second, James McFadden third, Andrew Scheuerle fourth, Bryan Mann fifth, Luke Oldfield sixth, Brent April seventh, Jason Sides eighth, David Murcott ninth, Brooke Tatnell tenth, Daniel Pestka eleventh, Jamie Veal twelfth, David Muir thirteenth, Danny Reidy fourteenth, Shane Stewart fifteenth, Garry Brazier sixteenth, Peter Lack seventeenth, Dylan Jenkin eighteenth and Terry Bracken nineteenth.

Steven Lines was classified as a DNF when he unfortunately blew a motor within sight of the last lap.

Thursday, January 2, 2014

Casey’s General Stores Signs On with Midwest Open Wheel Sprints

Jan. 2, 2013 - Officials of the Midwest Open Wheel Association (MOWA) are pleased to announce a partnership with Casey’s General Stores that will make Casey’s the presenting sponsor for the 2014 MOWA Sprint Car Series Presented by Casey’s General Stores.

The series will soon release a 2014 schedule of over 25 events in Illinois, Southeast Iowa, Eastern Missouri and Western Indiana. Entering its fourth season, the MOWA Sprint Car Series Presented by Casey’s General Stores features some of the best 410 winged sprint car action in the Midwest and averaged nearly 30 cars per event in 2013. The partnership with Casey’s General Stores will bring added awards and incentives for teams that regularly participate in series events.


Elma, WA | Jan. 2, 2013 - This morning, Grays Harbor County Commissioners awarded the operations and promotions contract for Grays Harbor Raceway to Funtime Promotions of Burlington, Washington. Funtime Promotions is owned by Steve Beitler whose other interests include Skagit Speedway in Alger, WA.

After a two month application and bidding process, Beitler will take over the beautiful 3/8mi for the next 3 years. We at Dirt Dog think this will bring some much needed strategic planning and cooperation to the Washington State dirt racing scene.

Tuesday, December 24, 2013

Boespflug To Make Midget Debut At Chili Bowl

by Petersen Media 
Hanford, CA | Dec. 24, 2013 - After having a very strong year in the sprint car ranks, Hanford, CA driver, Chad Boespflug is excited to make his midget debut at the Chili Bowl Midget National’s aboard one of Bill Ecker’s RAB Racing entries.

“I am very excited to get behind the wheel of a midget at the Chili Bowl,” Boespflug said. “It is something I’ve always wanted to do, and I am really looking forward to getting to Tulsa, and shaking them down.”

The RAB Racing team had a very strong 2013 as they picked up the prestigious Kokomo Klash with midget ace, Shane Cottle behind the wheel, and over the coarse of the year, Brad Kuhn piloted their machine to the 2013 Badger Series Championship.

“The team had a great 2013, and I’m hoping I can make them proud at the Chili Bowl, and hopefully do some more midget racing in 2014,” Boespflug said.